Capital: Lisbon
Population: approx. 10,3 million
Area: 92,212 km2
Language: Portugese
Currency: Euro [EUR]; 1 Euro = 100 Cents
GDP: 236,408 billion USD [in 2019, source: IMF]


UNESCO world heritage properties in Portugal:

  • Central Zone of the Town of Angra do Heroismo in the Azores
  • Sanctuary of Bom Jesus do Monte in Braga
  • Royal Building of Mafra-Palace, Basilica, Convent, Cerco Garden and Hunting Park (Tapada)
  • Convent of Christ in Tomar
  • Monastery of Batalha
  • Monastery of the Hieronymites and Tower of Belém in Lisbon
  • Historic Centre of Évora
  • Monastery of Alcobaça
  • Cultural Landscape of Sintra
  • Historic Centre of Oporto, Luiz I Bridge and Monastery of Serra do Pilar
  • Prehistoric Rock Art Sites in the Côa Valley and Siega Verde
  • Laurisilva of Madeira
  • Alto Douro Wine Region
  • Historic Centre of Guimarães
  • Landscape of the Pico Island Vineyard Culture
  • Garrison Border Town of Elvas and its Fortifications
  • University of Coimbra – Alta and Sofia
This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this website you are giving consent to cookies being used.